Get back on the horse that bucked you.

nature red forest leaves
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

We are all too familiar with the phrase: “ Get back on the horse.”

Usually a rhetoric to finding out someone has had:

A failed attempt at learning a new skill

A failed attempt at losing weight

A failed relationship

A failed business

A failed exam

It’s no wonder some of us give up on a goal all together. We fear that we’ll have to face going through this pain of failing once again.

Another term is: learned helplessness. We’ve learnt that we’re hopeless from our failings therefore we give up on the task and by doing so we create a self fulfilling prophecy.

But here’s the thing, we’re not helpless, we’re not failures, we’re human and we’re learning. We’re capable of extraordinary feats of human resourcefulness e.g travelling to the moon, climbing massive mountains without climbing gear.

we come up with ideas that change the world.

Being aware that you may have developed a learned helplessness mindset is the most powerful way to create a change or a pattern interrupt. I noticed that I was developing this mindset. So, it wasn’t until I actually started to challenge this it that I created a positive change for myself.

Instead of thinking that you need to “get back on the horse.” Start thinking: I accept and am thankful of the lessons that my past attempt at this activity have given me. I will learn from them and let them help to guide me in my next attempt. And I am excited to receive the rewards on completion of this activity.

With this mindset you:

1) change your perspective and see the past attempt as a well needed guide.

2) Develop acceptance of your current situation hence creating peace within yourself.

3) Let go of any negativity which allows space for your mind and body to develop a greater sense of curiousity and wonder about the activity. Developing a broader sense of creativity and imagination to complete the activity.

Instead of: Get back on the horse that bucked you.

Keep walking down the road of discovery.

Leave a comment